Luna not recognizing Streamdeck

axelantunes

Hello friends, my name is Axel and I have a question.
I started using Luna yesterday, and I'm studying some videos to learn how to work with this Daw.

I've made progress in many areas, but there's something I haven't managed to do yet.

Working with a Mac Studio Ultra, (sonoma 14.4.1) I've been able to use my streamdeck to work normally in another Daw.
However, in Luna, in the part where we choose the midi controller, all my midi devices are detected except the streamdeck.

In the other daw, it appears as an IAC driver and continues to work perfectly, but it doesn't appear in Luna.

Could someone please point me in the right direction to solve this problem?

Thanks so much!

Quint

Venerated Member
Stream Deck isn't a midi device, per se. SD only sends or receives midi if you're using a plugin inside the SD which is able to send or receive midi, such as the midi plugin from Trevliga Spel. Even then, you have to create virtual midi ports for use with Trevliga's plug, and then point Luna to those on the hardware controller page.

SD won't work as a midi controller with Luna because Luna only works with MCU, not midi, but the SD WILL work with Luna using MCU.

Last edited:

axelantunes

Hello Quint, thank you for your prompt reply.
It's actually the way you described that I use streamdeck in another DAW, installing the trevliga spel plugin and configuring the midi input and output.

What seems strange to me is that in the same way that I easily configure this in another DAW, in Luna, in the part where you select the controller, I can't find the streamdeck plugin.

chrisharbin

Hall of Fame Member
I'm not sure. I have a SD and Luna but I only use the key commands.

As far as midi is concerned Quint, it does indeed do that, but it's a tricky situation and I don't use it. When I did Live I bought some kinda pack (can't remember the name of the company) and went through the procedure. It kinda worked, but I eventually gave up.