Mixing into a hardware bus compressor

probos1

I just received (after waiting for several months) a new Stam Audio SA4000MK3 bus compressor. I want to mix into it.

Yes, I've read a few threads here for LUNA regarding hardware inserts. Tried the methods explained there. I can see the signal hitting the compressor, it's just coming back into LUNA to hear the results.

I've been recording and mixing with LUNA since jump, spring 2020. I really love it and I'm all ITB for mixing but wanted this one hardware element to finish things. Any help would be appreciated.

Nyoak34

Established Member
1. Create a Bus prior to your main out. We'll call it "mix bus"
2. Output your main tracks / busses to Mix Bus instead of main.
2a. Set outputs of Mix Bus to whatever outputs your SA4000 inputs are on.
3. Create a new stereo track
4. Set the Inputs of stereo track to wherever you have the outputs of the SA4000 coming in. Set the output to Main.
5. Put above stereo track into Input mode.

probos1

Thanks for the reply. This is essentially what I did before. Again, I see the signal hitting the compressor (needle happily bouncing) but don't see it making it back into to stereo track then out to the MAIN in LUNA. More info -- I have a multi-Apollo system in my mix room -- Apollo TWIN X, a first gen silverface Apollo QUAD and a UAD-2 Satellite. This setup is almost strictly for mixing/DSP. I have another room for tracking with another mulit-Apollo setup. Anyway -- I/O settings look good (using LINE5/6 as ins and outs for the SA4000) and I do see the signal lighting up 5/6 on my silverface Apollo.

I'm obviously missing something simple me thinks.

Nyoak34

Established Member