• Welcome to the General Discussion forum for UAD users!

Please note that this forum is user-run, although we're thrilled to have so much contribution from Drew, Will, and other UA folks!

Feel free to discuss both UAD and non-UAD related subjects!

1) Please do not post technical issues here. Please use our UAD Support Forums instead.

2) Please do not post complaints here. Use the Unrest Forum instead. They have no place in the the General Discussion forum.

Threads posted in the wrong forum will be moved, so if you don't see your thread here anymore, please look in the correct forum.

Lastly, please be respectful.

Not just another \"I need advice on which plugs to get\"...

yaron

... okay, so what if it is? :D

I'm a musician who's relatively new to recording. I've purchased a UAD-1 flexi pack, and so now have 650$ to spend (500$ voucher + 150$ promotion coupon). After reading about 20 pages into this forum I've pretty much got my mind made up on one or two must-haves. However, I'll try my best to specifically state my recording needs, and will be open (and grateful) to any suggestions.

For vocals I'll mainly be recording myself (bluesy low-tenor. I've been told I sound somewhere between Billy Joel and Tom Jones.).

Otherwise, I'll be recording female vocalists of various styles, a full drum-set, acoustic & electric guitars, Bass, keyboards, and maybe occasionally a sax or flute. so basically it'll just be rock/pop rhythm section, nothing fancy and no real \"special needs\".

Here's what I had in mind:

LA2A: I've managed to gather that it's pretty much good for anything. Plus, being the novice that I am, I'm hardly in any position to be contradicting threads upon threads of user-praise.

88RS: Ditto. plus, it's easy on the dsp. I gather the eq is also quite good, not to mention, at the moment the 88RS will be the only Gate I'll have.