• Welcome to the General Discussion forum for UAD users!

Please note that this forum is user-run, although we're thrilled to have so much contribution from Drew, Will, and other UA folks!

Feel free to discuss both UAD and non-UAD related subjects!

1) Please do not post technical issues here. Please use our UAD Support Forums instead.

2) Please do not post complaints here. Use the Unrest Forum instead. They have no place in the the General Discussion forum.

Threads posted in the wrong forum will be moved, so if you don't see your thread here anymore, please look in the correct forum.

Lastly, please be respectful.

Phasing

beginner1

I'm new to recording and I'm wondering, what is phasing. When i use two sm57's on a guitar cab i get a load of bass even if its backed down, if that has anything to do with a phasing issue

cAPSLOCK

Phase issues in the context you describe are caused by the following:

Sound travels through space as a waveform with peaks of compressed air coming at the frequency of the wave.

A microphone will respond to this and create a signal that consists of + and - signal.. this works the same as a speaker cone but in reverse.

You can see this on a digital system when you zoom in on a waveform and see the signal travel up over 0 and then back down below and so on.

When you have two microphones recording the same source at different places in space, the same sound wave will hit each mic at a different point in time. If (when) these signals cancel each other out to some extent... you have the efect of two signals being out of phase.

Two signals completely out of phase will generate silince. This Never happenes in the complicated world of acoustical physics... it really only can happen in a computer, or those bose headphones you see advertised on airplanes. ;)